Thoughts on Religion

I often give a lot of thought to religion and the hypocrisy associated with organized religion and the people who participate in it.

I consider myself a very free thinking person, I am very spiritual and I do go to church, but I often leave with a lot of questions. I don’t always understand the views of preachers or pastors. I feel that they interpret things in a way that follows their particular teachings or the points they are trying to convey during their messages or sermons.

I have often struggled with that particular aspect of things. Do they, pastors and preachers, get to simply twist the scriptures they follow to meet their needs at that point in time? Why don’t more people question this? Why don’t people have in depth conversations with their pastors or preachers to determine why they interpret a particular passage in that way or why they believe that particular interpretation?

I have had several conversations with my own pastor about his interpretations, how he has reached his conclusions, and if those conclusions change depending on what his message is.

I see a lot of news stories about religious cults, or extremists that are in the news for strictly following their religious beliefs and the hatred that follows the exercising of those beliefs from the more moderate followers of religions around the world. For example the ISIS terrorist group. They are an extremist group that follow the Islamic or Muslim teachings of Allah. That does not mean that all Muslim people are extremists or terrorists, they just choose to worship the same God or deity that the extremists chose to worship. And the Muslim texts are not all that different from the Christian Bible. There are several differences but those shouldn’t cause religious rifts between the two groups of worshipers. And yet it does. Why are people so intolerant?

And who can people talk too about the religious intolerance? The world has become a scary place to be religious, or to be non-religious. Where has the tolerance gone? Why can’t people simply respect others? You don’t have to believe the same way to be respectful. It’s important to show respect for everyone no matter what differences there are between the two of you.

I know this seems a bit scrambled, and that the thought flow doesn’t necessarily flow, but these are just some thoughts that run around in my mind from time to time. Until things get settled, I shall continue to pray for the world and it’s inhabitants.

God Bless.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Religion

  1. I guess it’s like when Jesus said to the disciples, “Who do men say that I am?” They replied with a few different answers and then He got more specific…”Who do you say that I am?” Mark 8:27-29
    It does not matter what the preachers and pastors say, what do you say? And I can see that you have your own mind, and your own heart, and that is all you need. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you! I appreciate that very much! I do indeed have my own mind, and I know that God is a powerful and wonderful being capable of anything I can imagine and everything I can’t! Thank you for the verse and the new view on things! It is much appreciated! Have a blessed day! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

