Growing Up on the Cusp of Entitlement

I am on the edge of turning 25, in just a few short months I will have reached that quarter of a century mark where I will either be extremely proud of my accomplishments thus far, or I will look back and wonder where the time has gone and why I haven’t done A LOT more.

I hear a lot nowadays that my entire generation is “entitled”. I agree up to an extent. I KNOW what hard work is, and I have never been given anything I haven’t worked towards (excluding birthday/Christmas presents/food and shelter from my parents, etc.). Now don’t get me wrong, I was VERY spoiled in terms of what I needed from my parents, but I didn’t get college handed to me, it was either make it on a full ride, or take out my own loans to make it through. I managed a full ride scholarship and paid what it didn’t cover (my last year since I managed to take 5 rather than 4..). I also paid for my own apartment throughout my time at school, until that magic 5th year when my roommates graduated and I didn’t, that was the terrible moment I knew I was going to have to move back home to afford to finish school on my own.

I was so devastated and disappointed with myself that I had to move back to my parents house. I had fooled myself into thinking I could handle all of my bills, all of my costs of school (YEAH RIGHT!) and anything else extra I was wanting out of life for my final year in school. All of those big aspirations on a part-time work schedule, since I was in school literally 60 hours of my week between classes, lab and homework in the library.. I couldn’t just pick an easy major.. Once I knew what I had to do, sacrifices like independent living space and eating out for lunch with my friends quickly came to and end. Then, lo and behold, my car died. I had to get a new car, with a payment. I had never had a payment before. I spent my savings account on a laptop and a (new-to-me) car right after I graduated high school. What was I going to do now?? I really HAD to move home at that point! I paid my entire final year myself, plus my car payment and all of the gas to and from school. My parents didn’t make me pay rent, but it was required that I help around the house since I wasn’t going to be contributing much in the way of money, 39 hours a week at minimum wage didn’t actually stretch very far turns out..

I cleaned my parents house, cooked dinner, did the dishes and took care of the myriad of farm animals needing never ending attention (they currently have 20+ chickens and 7, soon to be 8 cows, plus the usual dogs and cats that come with having animals in the middle of the country). All while I was still attending school full time, working part time and trying not to waste gas by driving anywhere else on the weekends. Life was grand.

I see people, my age, a little older, but mostly younger who are convinced things like higher education, vehicles or transportation, and healthcare should all be free to the,. They don’t want to work, they don’t want to even hold down part-time jobs to get some experience with customer interaction because it’s beneath them.. It pains me to be included in this generation. I just want to shout at them all “THE WORLD OWES YOU NOTHING!”.

I truly believe that if you work hard you can go anywhere and do anything in life that you want to do. But you have to WORK for it. You need to want whatever it is you’re going after bad enough to give things up, work your butt off, and smile the majority of the time until you get it.

I don’t know why kids or even young adults don’t see that… I worked a part-time job after I graduated college until I was hired at the agency where I work. It wasn’t glamorous, it was a job most people wouldn’t even consider, not even the ones in high school who “needed” the money. But guess what, I learned SO much. I went to work everyday with a smile, did the absolute best I could do while I was there, and I worked hard to make sure things ran smoothly, efficiently and were done properly. I was gifted with a paycheck that paid all of my bills, and a very loyal customer base who was very sad to see me go.

They said it was so rare to find someone my age who actually CARED. People, young and old alike, need to realize, you are going to have to work. Retirement isn’t a gift. It comes from years of hard work and time spent saving up to keep you comfortable for the rest of your life when your body is too tired to work and just wants to go on vacations.

That being said, if you HAVE to work, why not give it all you have? They’re paying you for a reason. Earn it. Don’t scrape by just by doing the bare minimum required. Your workplace and the people in it deserve so much more.

Let me say this one more time… THE WORLD OWES YOU NOTHING. IF YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO WORK FOR IT, YOU DIDN’T EARN IT AND YOU DON’T DESERVE IT.

Give a little more than a lot. Give all that you have! The return is amazing! Even if you just give someone a smile, it can make their whole day better!

2 thoughts on “Growing Up on the Cusp of Entitlement

  1. I think that what you have stated about our generation is very true. I look at my youngest brother who is 14 and he seems to take everything for granted. Life, unfortunately, is never that kind.
    People have to work for what they want. I started working as soon as I was 16 and during college (the equivalent to your two final years of high school), I worked three part time jobs while going to school full-time. It wasn’t that my parents could not help me out. I just did not want to rely on them unless I really had to.
    Kudos to you having such a strong work ethic. And in my opinion, you have achieved a lot 🙂

    Like

    1. Why thank you! Sounds like you have achieved quite a bit and I have a lot of respect for your work ethic as well! My youngest brother is 17 and he is the same way! He expects top of the line video games and game systems but doesn’t want to have to pay for them himself! My parents haven’t relaxed THAT much, but I definitely see a big difference in my work ethic and his work ethic.
      It makes me sad. He has a lot of potential and doesn’t seem to realize if he doesn’t start focusing it now he won’t know how later on! Best of luck to your youngest brother! Hopefully he learns from your example and this is just a phase!

      Like

Leave a Reply

