I am a FunSucker

I was going to write this post last week, but looking back on it, I am so glad I didn’t. I was angry with my boyfriend and now that I have had a chance to calm down and look at things, I can write this and keep it in perspective. In theory at least.

He went out and decided to enjoy himself. Which is not a problem. He works out of state or at least out of town, and that’s never been a problem. I try to be the girlfriend who doesn’t get jealous or upset over stupid things but occasionally I still miss that mark.

He went out to the bowling alley, which wasn’t a problem at all, he had some beers and had a pretty good time with his friends and the guys he works with. I don’t have a problem with that at all. I actually really like it when he goes out with the guys. He gets to go out and have some fun and I get to read a book or clean the house rather than being glued to my phone.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind sitting next to my phone. Not at all. Hearing from him makes my entire day. He really is just the light in my world.

That doesn’t keep me from being frustrated with him when he does stupid things though. And last week was a stupid thing. Getting drunk at the bowling alley wasn’t a big deal. He’s a big boy and he can take care of himself, but he had promised to call me after they left there because it was time for me to get in bed and go to sleep so I could get up and go to work in the morning, he needed to get some sleep too, but again, he’s a big boy and I am not his mama.

If he had just told me to go to bed and not to worry about it, then it wouldn’t have been a big deal. He was headed out to the bar with his friends. I just wanted a phone call. That’s our thing, when he is away at work, we call each other every night and say goodnight and I love you. Helps me sleep and then if he is still out and about I just have him text me when he makes it back to his hotel room and it’s not a big deal.

Well, he said he would call me, but he didn’t. He went straight to the bar with the boys and that was fine. We were texting and he kept saying he would call me in a few minutes, then he didn’t.

He ended up not texting me back for awhile and I started to get really frustrated. I finally, an hour and a half after he had gotten to the bar, just sent him a text and went to bed on my own without a phone call.

He ended up getting entirely too drunk that evening and not getting back to his room until they had all closed the bar down together somewhere around two in the morning. I ended up not answering his text messages or phone calls, because he did finally try to call me when he got back to his room. I was, needless to say at that point, not very interested in a phone call.

Now, I am over it now, but at the time, it was irritating. Not that he went and got really drunk with his friends. There is so much trust between us, mostly due to the ups and downs we’ve been through (another post in and of itself), that I don’t worry about other women or girls when he is out and about. I was disappointed in the fact that he had said he would call, and then didn’t. Repeatedly.

I am over it now, and so is he. We’ve moved on from it. But I felt like a total funsucker at the time. He thought I was upset that he had gone and gotten drunk. Which was not even the issue. We’ve talked about things now and we’re okay.

The love and respect we have for each other grows every time we have any sort of an argument or and issue that we end up needing to talk about or talk through. Funsucker or not, we’re doing good now and despite a fantastic hangover that managed to make him sick for several days, he’s just fine.

Until the next time I get to suck the fun from his evenings out, I will be happy I don’t have to play that role very often!

 

2 thoughts on “I am a FunSucker

  1. I wouldn’t say that you’re a funsucker!!! It sounds like you got worried and upset, but that’s not your fault (or his either), it just happened. And you’ve both dealt with it and moved on from it brilliantly 🙂 little miscommunications like that just happen sometimes (usually when *someone* has had a bit too much to drink haha) x

    Like

    1. So true! And thank you for not thinking I am a funsucker! I was worried and upset, probably part of my DNA since I seem to have all the emotions in the world all bottled up inside. We did move on from the miscommunication and we’re happy as ever! That’s generally how we work! Haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

