Are you ready for Fall?

What goes through your mind when you hear that it’s Fall? Maybe where you live it’s more commonly called Autumn.

I’ll tell you what goes through my mind. Orange. Yellow. Red. That deep dark purple. Scarves. Boots. Denim jackets. Pumpkins. Halloween. Bonfires. Football. S’mores.

I can’t help but be a tiny bit excited that Fall is finally here. Am I going to miss Summer? Absolutely. I love the hot weather. I love my bikinis. I will definitely welcome a trip to the Bahamas in December as a chance to get away from the cold weather. But Fall.. Everything gets a chance to start over after Fall. The leaves fall off the trees, the whole world changes color from green into a bright and beautiful place.

How exciting it is to watch the whole world shut down and sleep for a bit before it comes back to life in the Spring. New beginnings emerge from Fall and Winter.

Fall does bring some great things with it though! Who doesn’t like football? Or bonfires? Or better et, s’mores? I haven’t met very many people who don’t like a s’more.

Fall brings cooler weather, which is great for snuggling and oversized hoodies.

It’s the perfect time of year to curl up in a big chair with a good book and a mug of hot chocolate.

Another fun thing about fall.. All the food! Who can go wrong with pumpkin spiced anything!? There’s Halloween candy, there’s Thanksgiving, and better than all that.. There’s the treats that come with fall. Pumpkin spiced coffees, s’mores, pumpkin pie, and all the other assorted sweets that are more “Fall” appropriate. (Can you tell yet that I am mildly obsessed with s’mores? Cause I totally am…)

I always get wrapped up in this time of year. I get engrossed in the football games, college and NFL, I get all excited for weekend runs when the temperature drops and I can run outside instead of attempting to run on a treadmill in a gym. I love all the things that you can do outside. Summer is for water sports, but hiking is best in the Fall when nature is alive and the trees are all brightly colored.

I am going to miss my tank tops, and my bikinis. I love the summer weather when it’s warm and I can go without shoes. Or when I can wear shoes that don’t need socks. I feel like this year, with my biggest birthday yet being his past summer, I am having more trouble than usual letting go and getting in the mood for fall.

I do have to admit that I am excited about the fall aspect when it comes to the trees in a little different way this year. Why? Because I have my own trees this year. I have trees that are going to change color and leave my yard in complete disarray. And I am excited about it!

I also have squirrels that are currently nesting in some of my trees and the baby squirrels will be old enough to be out and about in just a few weeks or a month or so.

Plus I have so many beautiful birds that are also building their nests right now. I am going to have baby squirrels and baby birds in a few weeks!

One more aspect of color in the fall is the flowers.. I recently bought some bright yellow mums to spice up my porch! They are perfect and I love them. I also put in another flower bed (I am calling it a flower bed despite the fact that it doesn’t actually have any flowers in it, just greenery and non-flowering plants).

I feel like I have really drifted throughout this entire post, but I am going to blame my antibiotics (which are causing a lot of confusion for me right now). However, I am going to close it off with this, are YOU ready for Fall?

Cause the more I think about it, the more I think I am definitely ready for Fall.

 

Leave a Reply

