Update on my Crazy

So, I made myself a promise at the beginning of this year that instead of making a “normal” resolution to start 2017 I was going to try to just love myself a little bit more.

Update on how that has been working for me..

I am trying to get my life back on track as far as my diet and exercise. Not because weight loss is a necessity, but because working out and eating healthy make me feel better as a person. Like I have contributed to my overall well-being in some small way that day.

I have been trying to talk better TO myself. In my head, out loud.. I still have A LOT of work to do on that front, but I am still trying.

I have also been trying to talk better ABOUT myself. To myself, to my family, to Bobby. This one has been incredibly hard for me. Because there is so many negative things to say about me, as far as I can tell at least. It’s a work in progress. VERY slow progress. But I haven’t given up on that yet either.

I’ve been trying to work on my confidence. I have been wearing things I wouldn’t normally wear. Trying harder to be comfortable in my own skin. In fact, today I have on a dress I have never worn before. Why? Because I felt like it was too tight, or too this, or too that, all-in-all just not the right look for me. But I have it on today. And you know what, do I still think it’s too tight? Yep. But I feel okay in it. Not fabulous and super excited to be in it, but I needed to step out of my comfort zone, so I did.

Some other developments, I have been busy planning my upcoming wedding! So that’s exciting and new! Stressful just due to the insanity of costs that come with a wedding, but I am so excited to start a new chapter in my life with my favorite person ever.

My family and I have also started meal prepping. We are trying to keep my grandpa in reasonably good health, because he found out not too long ago that he has prostate cancer. So, that’s a struggle for everyone. I know that statistically speaking most men get prostate cancer, but that doesn’t change the fact that it’s still my grandpa, especially since I lost one grandma to cancer, and my other grandmother fought and beat cancer. Cancer is scary. Although the meal prep helps. All of the girls in the family get together and plan a menu and a grocery list. Then we go shopping and start our prep. We enjoy each other’s company and get a chance to make healthy options for dinners for a week. We even got my little sister involved.

Speaking of the little sister, her best friend just had her baby. His name is Finn and they are all doing great! Even though little sister’s best friend having a baby was hard on my big sister, who is still struggling with the infertility that comes with PCOS, she has been a great sport about it. And Finn is so cute that it definitely helps.

There seems to be a lot of new babies right now, and engagements, and other things of that nature. Everyone in my generation is certainty moving into the adult phase of life.

Also, Bobby and I got ANOTHER new puppy! This one was a total accident. Diesel is barely 6 months old next month and now we have another 2ish month old puppy named Daisy Mae! She’s absolutely adorable and SO loud… Jax (the cat) is actually adjusting reasonably well all things considered. She is VERY tolerant of both the puppies and she actually seems to enjoy playing with them. They all run through the house like they’re hooligans. Daisy has also already eaten a pair of shoes.. a woman after my own heart.. Needless to say the closet stays closed now.

The little sister, Brooklyn, is also entering into her second (one year left!) year of nursing school! She still loves it so I think she is definitely on the right path for her. She struggles with money because she did go to an expensive school and it’s, naturally, in an expensive area, but we all try to help her out as much as we can.

My brother, Bradley, is getting ready to go back to STATE (again!) for the second year in a row to see if his Academic Team can bring home the title. That’s in just a couple of weeks actually… It’s crazy to me to think he graduates high school in just a few months. He’s always been the baby and now he is moving out of childhood right in front of me. Lucky for me though he is going to school right down the road from me at my Alma Mater! I fully plan on taking him to lunch at least once a month or week, or maybe everyday.. Kidding. Kind of.

There really has just been SO much going on lately. I know a quick update like this one probably doesn’t even have half of the things that I have going on in my life right now mentioned in it, but it’s a good start.

Until next time!

One thought on “Update on my Crazy

Leave a Reply

